Lenten Borscht with Beans and Canned Fish

Lenten Borscht with Beans and Canned Fish - фото рецепта
Traditional Ukrainian lenten borscht is very delicious and healthy. Every housewife has their own special recipe for this lenten borscht. There are many variations: with mushrooms, with beans, with beans and fish, and so on. And all of them are correct and undoubtedly tasty. I simply offer my recipe for lenten borscht. Not so much mine, but rather my husband's, as he cooks it more often, to the delight of me and our daughter. You should try it and judge for yourself... The most valuable thing about this dish is that every day the lenten borscht becomes more and more delicious, so you can use a larger pot.
Beans
1-1.25 cups
Canned Fish
2 cans (sprats or canned fish in tomato sauce)
Potatoes
4-5 pcs.
Cabbage
1-1.25 cups
Beet
1 pc.
Carrots
1 pc.
Onion
1 pc.
Sweet Pepper
1 pc.
Tomatoes
4-5 pcs. (or 2-3 tbsp tomato paste)
Salt
to taste
Black Pepper
ground
Dill
1 bunch
Sunflower Oil
for frying
To prepare lenten borscht with beans and canned fish, first of all, you need to soak the beans for at least 2-3 hours, preferably overnight. Then drain the water from the beans and add 3.5 liters of fresh water. Bring the beans to a boil and cook until tender.
Let's prepare the sauté for the lenten borscht with beans and canned fish. Chop the onion into small cubes, the rest of the vegetables - julienne. Pour oil into a pan and heat it up. First, add the beets - fry for 4 minutes. Add the onion and fry for 1 minute. Then add the carrots - fry for 4 minutes. Cook the sweet pepper for 1 minute, add crushed tomatoes or tomato paste. Add 1 cup of hot water (or vegetable broth) and simmer over low heat for 10 minutes.
When the beans are cooked, season the broth with salt and add diced potatoes.
After 10 minutes, add shredded cabbage and cook for 5 minutes.
If the cabbage is young, you can add it right before adding the sauté.
Finally, add the sauté and canned fish to the lenten borscht, cook for another 2-3 minutes. Add pepper, herbs, if needed, and adjust the saltiness.
I prefer using canned fish in tomato sauce, without fish heads.
Lenten Borscht with Beans and Canned Fish is served both hot and cold. And with garlic puffs and sour cream... it's really good...

Постный борщ с фасолью и рыбными консервами

Постный борщ с фасолью и рыбными консервами - фото рецепта
Традиционный украинский постный борщ – очень вкусный и полезный. Конечно, у каждой хозяйки есть свой особенный рецепт такого постного борща. Вариантов масса: с грибами, с фасолью, с фасолью и рыбой и т. д. и все они правильные и без сомнения вкусные. Я просто предлагаю свой рецепт постного борща. Не столько мой, а скорее моего мужа, так как он его чаще готовит, на радость мне и дочери. А вы пробуйте и оценивайте… Самое ценное у этого блюда то, что с каждым днем постный борщ становится все вкуснее и вкуснее, поэтому кастрюлю можно подобрать побольше.
Фасоль
250-300 г
Консервы рыбные
2 баночки (килька или бычки в томате)
Картофель
4-5 шт.
Капуста белокочанная
250-300 г
Свекла
1 шт.
Морковь
1 шт.
Лук репчатый
1 шт.
Перец сладкий
1 шт.
Помидоры
4-5 шт. (или 2-3 ст. лож томатной пасты)
Соль
по вкусу
Перец черный
молотый
Укроп
1 пучок
Масло подсолнечное
для жарки
Для приготовления постного борща с фасолью и рыбными консервами, прежде всего, нужно замочить фасоль минимум на 2-3 часа, а лучше на ночь. Затем сливаем с фасоли воду и заливаем новой в количестве 3,5 л. Ставим фасоль на плиту и варим до мягкости.
Приготовим зажарку для постного борща с фасолью и рыбными консервами. Лук нарезаем мелкими кубиками, остальные овощи – соломкой. В сковороду наливаем масло и разогреваем его. Сначала кладем свеклу – жарим 4 мин. Добавляем лук и жарим 1 минуту. Затем морковь - жарим 4 мин. Сладкий перец – готовим 1 мин, добавляем перетертые помидоры или томатную пасту. Сюда же добавляем 1 стак. горячей воды (или овощного бульона) и все тушим на слабом огне 10 мин.
Когда фасоль будет готова, солим наш бульон и кладем нарезанный небольшими кубиками картофель.
Через 10 мин кладем нашинкованную капусту и варим 5 мин.
Если капуста молодая ее можно положить сразу перед тем, как положить зажарку.
Наконец закладываем в постный борщ зажарку и консервы, варим еще 2-3 мин. Добавляем перец, зелень, если нужно, досаливаем.
Я люблю использовать бычки в томате, там нет рыбьих голов.
Постный борщ с фасолью и рыбными консервами подается как в горячем, так и в холодном виде. А вместе с чесночными пышками и со сметаной … очень даже…